Governor's FY 2017 Budget: Articles

Staff Presentation to the House Finance Committee March 10, 2016

Introduction

- Article 13 Making Work Pay
 - Minimum Wage
 - Earned Income Tax Credit
- Article 16 Making it Easer to do Business in Rhode Island
 - Unemployment Insurance
 - Temporary Disability Insurance

- Increases minimum wage from \$9.60 to \$10.10 per hour
 - Effective January 1, 2017
- 2015 Assembly increased from \$9.00 to \$9.60/hour
 - Effective January 1, 2016
- DLT reports estimated 40,000 RI workers who are paid hourly earn between \$9.00 and \$9.99
 - Approx. 13% of those with hourly wages

State	Minimum Wage
Connecticut*	\$9.60
Maine	\$7.50
Massachusetts*	\$10.00
New Hampshire	\$7.25
Rhode Island	\$9.60
Vermont*	\$9.60
U.S. Average	\$8.12

Data from United States Department of Labor as of 1/1/16 *Scheduled to go up Jan 1, 2017: MA \$11, CT \$10.10, VT \$10

- Minimum wage laws vary across the United States
- Rhode Island currently has 4th highest minimum wage (incl. DC)
 - **\$9.60**
 - Tied with Vermont and Connecticut
- States w/ higher minimum wage
 - California and Massachusetts \$10.00
 - D.C. \$10.50

State			
Minimu	m Wage Co	ohorts	
\$7.25	21	41%	
\$7.26 - \$8.49	14	27%	
\$8.50 - \$9.50 9 18%			
> \$9.51 7 14%			
	51	100%	

Includes Washington D.C.

Data from United States Department of Labor as of 1/1/16

- 11 states index minimum wage to costof-living formula
- 7 states have two-tiers
- 5 states have no statutory minimum
- 2 states are below federal minimum
 - Federal minimum of \$7.25 applies
 - Last raised in 2009

Article 13 – Minimum Wage Nomeașt \$8.67/bour **Midwest** West \$7.94/hour \$8.32/hour South .74/hour U.S. Census Bureau and Dept. of Labor

- Direct state budget expenditure impact relates only to the Department of Environmental Management
 - Certain seasonal workers
 - Estimated FY 2017 impact ~\$70,000
 - Annual impact roughly twice that
 - Not included in the Governor's budget

- Credit against personal income taxes
 To assist low/moderate income filers
 - Must have earned income to qualify
- Credit issued at federal level
 - Income level
 - Filing status
 - Number of dependent children

Federal Credit - Single Filer – Tax Year 2016				
	No Qualifying Children	1 Qualifying Child	2 Qualifying Children	3+ Qualifying Children
Max. Income	\$14,880	\$39,296	\$44,648	\$47,955
Max. Credit	\$506	\$3,373	\$5,572	\$6,269
F	ederal Credit	- Joint Filers –	Tax Year 201	5
F	ederal Credit No Qualifying Children	- Joint Filers – 1 Qualifying Child	Tax Year 201 2 Qualifying Children	3+ Qualifying Children
F Max. Income	No Qualifying	1 Qualifying	2 Qualifying	3+ Qualifying

- 26 states offer a credit against state income tax – including Rhode Island
 State credit = % of federal credit
- 23 states' credits are refundable including Rhode Island
 - If credit is more than amount owed difference paid to filer

- Comparison of credit impact between states is difficult
- Percent of federal credit & refundability not only factors
 - Marginal tax rates tiered system more progressive than flat rate; ranges of income within brackets
 - Deductions and exemptions
 - Other credits allowed

State	State Credit % of Federal	Marginal Tax Rate	Other Factors
Rhode Island	12.5%	Progressive 3.75% - 5.99%	standard deduction; personal & dependent exemptions; childcare credit
Connecticut	27.5%	Progressive 3.0% - 6.70%	standard deduction; personal exemption
Massachusetts	23.0%	Flat 5.10%	Personal & dependent exemptions; childcare deduction; renters deduction

- 2014 Assembly enhanced value of credit for tax year 2015
 - 10% of federal, 100% refundable
 - Was 25% of federal, 15% refundable
- Governor's FY 2016 budget proposed increasing credit over 2 years
 - To 12.5% of federal credit for TY 2016
 - To 15% of federal credit for TY 2017

- 2015 Assembly concurred with increase to 12.5% of credit for TY 2016
- Governor's FY 2017 Proposal Increase value of the credit to 15.0% of federal
 - Remains 100% refundable
- FY 2017 Budget includes \$2.7 million revenue decrease (half-year impact)
 Annualizes to \$5.5 million for FY 2018

- Article 16 makes 2 changes affecting unemployment insurance taxes
 - Reduces reserve ratios
 - Expands tax rates in each schedule
 - Expected to save employers ~ \$30 million in 2017

- Unemployment insurance taxes paid by employers
 - Federal and state component
 - Federal tax used for:
 - Administrative expenses
 - Loans to states when needed to pay benefits
 - Partially reimburse states for extended benefits
 - State tax used solely for benefits

2015	Effective Rate	Wage Base	Tax per Employee
Federal	0.6%	\$7,000	\$42
		\$21,200	\$358 - \$2,075
State*	1.69%-9.79%	\$22,700	\$384 - \$2,222
	Total		\$400 - \$2,264

*Does not include Job Development Assessment of 0.21%

- During recession, many states borrowed from federal trust fund to pay claims
 Rhode Island's trust fund became
 - insolvent in March 2009
- State had negative fund balances for a number of years
 - 2010 Assembly enacted 0.3% increase in Job Development Fund to pay loans

- Federal loan repaid in 2015
 - Federal assessment ended when loan was repaid
 - Additional state assessment ended
- As of September 30, 2015, state's trust fund reserves total \$116.5 million

- 2011 Changes effective Jan. 1, 2012
 - Increased taxable wage base
 - Changed method of determining taxable wage base
 - Increased from \$19,000 to 46.5% of 2010 wages and all future wages
 - Estimated to be \$19,600 in CY 2012
 - Increased base by \$1,500 for employers with highest negative reserve account balances

- 2011 Changes effective July 1, 2012
 Modified benefit rates & eligibility
 - Reductions to
 - % of wages used to determine benefits
 - % of wages replaced
 - Maximum weekly benefit
 - Increased earnings needed to overcome disqualifications
 - Delayed benefits by any amount received from severance pay

State has 9 tax schedules: A - I Each schedule has 25 tax rate groups Schedules based on reserve ratio of fund as of September 30 of prior year Trust Fund balance divided by total wages paid during year = reserve ratio Individual rates based on each employers' level of reserves

- Using Schedule I since 1992
 - Schedule I has the highest tax rates
 - Expected to stay on Schedule I until 2021
- Article 16 lowers reserve ratios
 - Allows move to Schedule H in FY 2017
 - Lower tax schedules and lower tax rates

Tax Rate Schedules			
	Current Law	Article 16	
2017		н	
2018		Н	
2019	I	G	
2020	I	G	
2021	н	G	
2022	Н	G	
2023	Н	G	
2024	Н	F	

Tax Schedule by Reserve Ratio



- Based on RI's experience, U.S. Dept. of Labor recommends minimum reserve ratio of 3% prior next recession
 - Equates to 1 year's benefits at average payout over highest 3 years of last 20
- Article 16 would reach 2.6% in 2023
 - Currently 0.25%
 - Mass 0.27%; CT 0.02%
- As of January 1, 2016, 32 states below federal target

Article 16 expands tax rates

- Adds 3 new rates within each schedule
- Lowest rate falls below 1%
- Adjusts other rates up to maintain overall contributions at current level
 - Employers with few layoffs will move to lower minimum rates
 - Those with frequent layoffs will move to higher rates
- No change to 0.21% Job Dev. Assessment

Employer Tax Per Employee			
Employer Reserves	Current Law	Article 16	Difference
20%	\$403	\$276	\$(127)
10%	\$700	\$615	\$(85)
5%	\$827	\$763	\$(64)
-5%	\$1,272	\$1,230	\$(42)

State Unemployment Tax Rates, 2015			
State	Wage Base	Minimum Rate	Maximum Rate
Connecticut	\$15,000	1.9%	6.8%
Maine	\$12,000	0.74%	6.86%
Massachusetts	\$15,000	0.73%	11.13%
New Hampshire	\$14,000	0.05%	6.0%
Rhode Island	\$21,200 or \$22,700	1.69%	9.79%
Vermont	\$16,400	1.3%	8.4%

- RI & 4 other states have a temporary disability insurance program
- Protects workers against wage loss from non-work related illness or injury
- Temporary caregiver program provides 4 weeks to care for family member
- Paid for by employees
 - 1.2% on first \$66,300 or \$795.60

- Article 16 establishes task force on temporary disability insurance fraud & program integrity
 - Director of Labor and Training chair
 - Secretary of Health and Human Services
 - Director of Health
 - Director of Office of Management & Budget
 - Attorney General

- Coordinate joint efforts to combat fraud and abuse
- Foster appropriate use of the program by both claimants and healthcare providers

Educate about program's intent & benefits
Perform joint investigations into fraudulent activities

- Article 16 reduces length of time claimants have to apply for benefits
 - from 52 weeks to 90 days
 - Allows DLT director to extend claim filing period up to 26 weeks
 - If individual can show good medical reason for delay in filing

State	Claim Reporting Deadline
California	49 days
Hawaii	90 days
New Jersey	30 days
New York	30 days
Rhode Island (current law)	52 weeks
Aflac (private)	52 weeks

Governor's FY 2017 Budget: Articles

Staff Presentation to the House Finance Committee March 10, 2016